# **Grow Licking County CIC**

Board of Directors Meeting September 14,2020

Location: Etna Township, 1145 South Street, Etna, OH

- Present: Corey Alton, John Carlisle, John Fisher, Duane Flowers, Patrick Guanciale, Mark Johns, Lauren Massie, Jennifer McDonald, Mike McFarland (8:40 AM), Dan McVey, Robert O'Neill, Joseph Robertson (8:52 AM) and Nate Strum and Stephanie Bosco
- Excused: Jim Lenner, Rick Platt, Jim Roberts

The meeting was called to order at 8:35 AM by Chair Dan McVey.

John Carlisle welcomed guests to Etna Township and reviewed safety protocols, and gave an update on the building used to host the meeting.

Chair McVey recognized guests. Those in attendance:

- Kelly Waters, Waters Global Group
- Conner Brintlinger, American Structurepoint
- Ethan, Etna Township Road Department
- Erin Grigsby HNLCPA

The minutes of the July 2020 meeting of the Board of Directors were reviewed. It was motioned to approve the minutes by Mr. O'Neill and seconded by Mrs. McDonald. The motion passed.

#### Chair's Report

Chair Dan McVey shared the board nominating committee process, and recognized Mr. O'Neill as in-coming Chair. He encouraged any director to notify Mr. O'Neill if they are interested in serving as an Officer by Friday, September 18, 2020.

Chair McVey reviewed the GROW Licking County Code of Regulations Amendment (handout).

Mr. Flowers motioned, seconded by Mr. O'Neill to identify the two drafts of the Amendment as: Draft One (1) as pages 1-8, and Draft Two (2) as pages 1-9, and dated with today's date. The motion passed.

Mrs. McDonald motioned, seconded by Mr. Johns, to approve Draft Two (2) of the Amendment that includes: 1. Language permitting the removal of a director by the appointing member (p. 2). 2. Establishment of a GROW Executive Committee (p.6). The motion passed.

Mr. O'Neill motioned, seconded by Mr. Flowers, to amend the language to add that the Executive Committee also includes the past chair. The motion passed.

## Committee Reports

Updates were provided in writing by the following committees and chairs: Finance & Strategy – Mr. Joseph Robertson Marketing – Mr. Mark Johns Infrastructure – Mr. Roberts LC Works – Mrs. Massie

See handouts for committee reports.

## Director's Report

Mr. Strum provided a written director's report. See handout.

#### Comments from Citizens

None.

## Items for Action

Chair McVey shared written correspondence received from the Heath-Newark-Licking County Port Authority's President, Rick Platt. The letter was notification to the Board that Mr. Platt resigns his director position effective immediately, and appoints Erin Grigsby to his position, effective immediately.

Chair McVey recognized Mr. Platt's years of service and contribution to GROW Licking County CIC, and thanked him, on behalf of the Board, for his service to the community. He then welcomed Erin Grigsby as a new board director.

Mr. Flowers moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 AM.

Next Meeting: November 2020 at 9:00 AM - TBD

Respectfully submitted,

Lauren Massie, Secretary